Our Investigators

submenu

The Institute for Molecular Virology fosters a collegial and highly interactive community of virologists, which provides a very attractive atmosphere in which to recruit new virologists to the University of Minnesota.  Virologists, particularly senior faculty, are looking for the added value of joining an institution that provides the infrastructure for fostering and encouraging interactions among virus researchers that can be viewed by the recruit as the type of collegial environment that can enhance their research program through new interactions and collaborations.  In this regard, the IMV has aided other AHC units in virology faculty recruitment and retention, as well as aided in stimulating new initiatives and new scholarly productivity in the form of grants and publications resulting from an interactive and collegial environment.  Such activity helps to emphasize the vibrant and active research community of virus researchers that is particularly attractive to faculty being recruited to the IMV and the UMN.

Virology Investigators

Hideki Aihara, PhD
Associate Professor

612-624-1491
aihar001@umn.edu

Full bio

Dwight Anderson, PhD
Professor Emeritus

(612) 624-7989
dlander@umn.edu

Full bio

Jason Baker, MD
Assistant Professor of Medicine

612-624-9996
baker@umn.edu

Full bio

Paul Bohjanen, MD, PhD
Professor of Medicine

612-624-9996

Full bio

Wade Bresnahan, PhD
Associate Professor

612-626-5876
bresn013@umn.edu

Full bio

Maxim Cheeran, DVM, PhD
Associate Professor

612-626-9930
cheeran@umn.edu

Full bio

Levi Downs, Jr, MD
Associate Professor

612-626-6499
downs008@umn.edu

Additional organizations: University of Minnesota Physicians; University of Minnesota Medical Center; Deborah. E. Powell Center for Women's Health; Women's Cancer Research Program; Department of Obstetrics, Gynecology and Women's Health (OBGYN)
Research expertise:
 HPV-induced carcinogenesis, molecular therapeutics for cervical cancer and gynecologic oncology clinical trials.

Full bio

Robert Geraghty, PhD
Associate Professor

612-625-3281
gerag012@umn.edu

Full bio

Shelley Grimes, PhD
Associate Professor

612-624-0667
grime001@umn.edu

Full bio

Ashley Haase, MD
Regents' Professor and Head, Department of Microbiology and Immunology ; Professor of Medicine (Joint Appointment) Infectious Diseases and Internal Medicine

Full bio

Daniel Harki, PhD
Associate Professor

612-625-8687
daharki@umn.edu

Full bio

Reuben Harris, Ph.D.
Professor and Associate Director

612-624-0457
rsh@umn.edu

Additional organizations: Microbiology, Immunology and Cancer Biology (MICaB) Ph.D. Graduate Program
Research expertise:
Mechanisms of purposeful mutation relating to innate and adaptive immunity

Full bio

Paul J. Jardine, PhD
Associate Professor

612-624-0667
jardine@umn.edu

Full bio

Ryan Langlois, PhD
Assistant Professor

612-625-3633
langlois@umn.edu

Full bio

Fang Li, PhD
Associate Professor

612-625-6149
lifang@umn.edu

Full bio

James Lokensgard, PhD, MS, BA
Professor of Medicine

Full bio

Hinh Ly, MA, PhD
Associate Professor

hly@umn.edu

Full bio

Kim Mansky, PhD
Professor

612-626-5582
kmansky@umn.edu

Full bio

Shane McAllister, MD, PhD
Assistant Professor

smcallis@umn.edu

Research expertise: Herpes viruses

Full bio

Thomas Molitor, PhD
Professor of Medicine (Joint Appointment)

Full bio

Joachim Mueller, PhD
Professor, Physics and Astronomy

612-625-4369
muell053@umn.edu

Full bio

Julie Olson, DVM, PhD
Associate Professor

612-626-6304
jkolson@umn.edu

Full bio

Neil Olszewski, PhD
Professor

612-625-3129
neil@umn.edu

Full bio

Phillip Peterson, MD
Professor of Medicine and Distinguished International (Emeritus)

Full bio

Frank Rhame, MD
Professor of Medicine (Joint Appointment)

rhame001@umn.edu

Full bio

Stephen Rice, PhD
Associate Professor

612-626-4183
ricex019@umn.edu

Full bio

Timothy Schacker, MD
Professor of Medicine

Full bio

Leslie Schiff, PhD
Professor

612-624-9933;
schif002@umn.edu

Full bio

Mark Schleiss, MD
Professor

612-626-9913;
schleiss@umn.edu

Full bio

Nikunj Somia, PhD
Associate Professor

612-625-6988
somia001@umn.edu

Full bio

Peter Southern, PhD
Associate Professor

612-625-2141
south003@umn.edu

Full bio

Vaiva Vezys, PhD
Associate Professor

612-625-4650
vvezys@umn.edu

Full bio

Robert Vince, PhD
Director, Professor

612-624-9911
vince001@umn.edu

Full bio

Carston Wagner, PhD
Professor and Endowed Chair

612-625-2614
wagne003@umn.edu

Full bio

Zhengqiang Wang, PhD
Associate Professor

612-626-7025
wangx472@umn.edu

Full bio

Wei Zhang, PhD
Research Associate Professor

612-624-1996
zhangwei@umn.edu

Full bio

No Results